EWP Energy White Paper

Australian Government Department of Industry

Energy White Paper

Reference Panel

An expert reference panel will assist the Department of Industry during the development of the Energy White Paper. In addition to the provision of energy sector expertise and advice, the Reference Panel will assist in the identification and prioritisation of issues. The Expert Reference Panel consists of,

John Ryan - Chair, Department of Industry

Mr David Moult

Mr Moult has been Centennial Coal Company Limited’s Managing Director & CEO since 2011. David is currently Chairman of the NSW Minerals Council; a Director of Australian Coal Association Low Emissions Technologies Limited; a Member of the University of NSW Education Trust Advisory Committee; a Member of the NSW Freight Advisory Council; a Member of Coal Innovation NSW; and previous Director of the Australian Coal Association.

Dr Gillian Owen

Dr Owen moved to Australia in August 2012, following a career in the UK in energy policy, regulation and consumer affairs. She is a part-time Research Program Leader at Monash University and a Senior Research Associate with the International Energy Policy Institute, University College London, undertaking work on energy efficiency, electricity demand response and economic regulation. She is also a member of the Australian Energy Regulator’s Consumer Challenge Panel.

Professor Paul Simshauser

Professor Simshauser joined AGL in 2008 as Chief Economist and has worked in the energy industry for over 20 years, having held senior positions with Stanwell Corporation and Babcock & Brown. He is also a Professor of Economics at Griffith University’s Business School.

Ms Anna Skarbek

Ms Skarbek is the Executive Director of ClimateWorks Australia working to catalyse reductions in greenhouse gas emissions in Australia. She has previous worked as a senior policy adviser for the Victorian Deputy Premier, an investment banker in Macquarie Bank’s energy and utilities team, and a solicitor with Mallesons Stephen Jaques. Ms Skarbek is on the board of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation and has extensive experience in climate policy.

Dr Brian Spalding

Dr Spalding has held key implementation and operational roles in national and state electricity markets. He is a Commissioner of the Australian Energy Market Commission and was previously a Board member of the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA).

Mr David Swift

Mr Swift is the Executive General Manager, Corporate Development with the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO).  He has had a long and distinguished career within the energy sector, and was one of the original architects of the policy to establish the National Energy Market.

Ms Jennifer Westacott

Ms Westacott is the Chief Executive at the Business Council of Australia and Chair of the BCA’s Energy Working Group.

Dr Alex Wonhas

Dr Wonhas is the Executive Director of CSIRO’s Energy and Resources. He has responsibility for approximately 620 researchers, who aim to provide science and technology solutions that will enhance the value Australia derives from its vast energy and mineral resources while enabling the transition to a lower emissions economy. Dr Wonhas has oversight for CSIRO's Energy Flagship and the Mineral Resources Flagship. He is also the Executive Team member with responsibilities for CSIRO's operation in Chile.

Mr Paul Zealand

Mr Zealand manages the Australia and New Zealand portfolio of oil and gas assets for Origin. He is also responsible for Origin's exploration activities focused on the long-term growth and development of the upstream business.  Prior to joining Origin, Mr Zealand was Chairman and General Manager of Shell in New Zealand.  Mr Zealand is a Vice President of the Queensland Resources Council, a Fellow of Engineers Australia and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Last modified

Monday, February 29, 2016 - 07:56